I feel like a Stanford Alum!

One of the great things, perhaps the greatest thing, about the internet is the amazing availability of information.  Certainly this has and will continue to impact and change the way my generation approaches the world and understands the world.  New innovations are constantly furthering and making more readily available information on just about anything.  Just off the top of my head I can think of a basic time line in innovation – America Online, Yahoo, Google, Wikipedia…

Since college my use of the internet has evolved, the existence of this blog is probably the biggest example.  I love to search and read blogs of all types around the internet.  I also listen to a lot of podcasts.  I already love macs (they are amazing! My wife and I have had the same laptop for 4 years now and love it!) so the advent of podcasts was genius!

Now, Stanford University has taken everything to another level!   ITunes has a special section labeled iTunes U, a special section where universities can post material and podcasts.  I have downloaded a couple of the Stanford podcasts before and enjoyed the topics that they presented.  Now, however, they have expanded their presence.  They have hundreds of different lectures on iTunes now on topics ranging from the historical Jesus to sustainable entrepreneurial leadership!  They are posting entire courses!  And they are not just lectures on antiquated material.  They are posting what seems like every conference, forum, or lecture taking place on campus that has to do with very contemporary issues.  For example, I have been listening to round table forums on health and energy issues confronting the world today and the importance of entrepreneurship in solving these issues!

So, in short, I feel like going out and buying a Stanford sweater!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I feel like a Stanford Alum!

  1. DUDE! Now I know what to get you for Christmas!!

  2. Brad Klausman

    Matt,

    After reading your blog I believe you are smart enough to be a Stanford Alumni. Thanks for staying another year!

Leave a Reply

