To Write Love On Her Arms

Last night my friends and I went to the Heavy and Light show hosted by To Write Love On Her Arms at the House of Blues in Orlando.  The show was excellent and would have been worth missing the Chargers game even if they had won!  TWLOHA is a non-profit in Orlando that gives hope and help to people struggling with depression, addiction, self-injury, and suicide.  They work closely with bands and often tour spreading their message of hope and love in Christ (though they don’t push it, they let the bands do that!).  If you have never heard of them I strongly suggest that you read their story over at their site.

So here was the lineup:

Zach Williams – opened the night and I was thoroughly impressed!!! I am becoming a bigger and bigger fan of acoustic folk music and Zach’s music will definetly draw me further down that road.

Josh Moore – another acoustic folk man,  Josh bounced around everywhere in the show and was full of energy all night!

Anthony Raneri – the frontman of Bayside brought a different style to the stage.  Much more acoustic punk than folk, he brought more energy to the crowd with some of his faster songs that I know my friends and I were looking forward to.

Dustin Kensrue – THE REASON WE WENT!!!  Since I have lived in Florida we have seen Thrice play twice and now we got to see Dustin play some of his acoustic solo work.  Come All You Weary is one of my favorite songs by Thrice and he opened with it! Great move!

Aaron Gillespie – I am not too much into UnderOath or The Almost – both bands that Aaron is involved in – but he was amazing!!!  Aaron was so full of energy, completely ADD up there!  Extravagant at the end was incredible, his passion and love for Jesus just flowed (as Christiany as that sounds).  The other cool thing is that my friend Chris had a conversation with him in the middle of the show!  Chris yelled “I saw you in Johannesburg” and they talked for a couple minutes – Aaron from the stage and Chris from the crowd!

Jon Foreman – I loved that Jon did not play by himself, he brought in a couple others to play the cello and drums.  Great performance, crowd loved it!

I think the guy Jon had playing the drums was Aaron Weiss from mewithoutYou!  Can anyone confirm that for me?  Chris and I couldn’t get that thought out of our heads the whole night.  Hopefully those boys are recording another album right now!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

